Orange cinnamon muffins

In the spirit of hope and renewal and not relying on anyone to define my happiness, I indulged in a little baking this afternoon. I have just arrived  back from a family trip on  the south coast and I feel refreshed rejuvenated and feel so much more positive about life. My husband made a nice of salad, scrambled eggs and padron peppers, so I was also feeling content and full.

There was a container full of yoghurt in the fridge that needed using up so I decided that I would find a muffin recipe. Eventually I found one – tweaked it according to my kitchen cupboard contents. I was interested in using yoghurt, honey and olive oil instead of the usual milk, sugar and butter ingredients.  The texture and taste of the final product is different to anything I have tasted before. Spongy  but not light spongy like a sponge cake. More dense. It is nice but different. Also not as sweet as I thought it might be but I am guessing that is not a bad thing. The original recipe calls for whole wheat flour which I am assuming would had added that ‘something else’ to the taste. However currently my cupboard is full of white flour which I am in the slow process of using up before I purchase anymore.

Anyway – the verdict is: I enjoyed these. They will make a nice accompaniment to breakfast tomorrow and they will keep for lunch in the first part of the week.

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 1/4 cup full-fat Greek yogurt
1/4 cup honey
1 egg
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees and line a muffin pan with muffin liners.
  2. Whisk the flour, , salt, cinnamon and nutmeg together in a large bowl.
  3. In a smaller bowl, combine the Greek yogurt, maple syrup, egg, olive oil and vanilla extract.
  4. Slowly pour the wet ingredients in to the dry ingredients and use a spoon to gently fold the ingredients together. Do not over-mix. The batter will be very thick (almost like a fluffier cookie dough).
  5. Spoon batter into muffin cups and make for approximately 20 minutes, until the tops of the muffins are set. Watch the muffins closely, so as not to overbake.
  6. Allow to cool and enjoy. Store any leftover muffins in an air-tight container for four to five days.
Leave a Reply

